MMIW: New unsolved cases added to CBC’s database

Attachments area
Preview YouTube video A Tribe Called Red – Electric Pow Wow Drum

A Tribe Called Red – Electric Pow Wow Drum

Preview YouTube video Ulali Project Idle No More

Ulali Project Idle No More

https://youtu.be/8eZZgryIgJU

Lyrics & Translation thanks to +sharaesha :
+Mahk jchi tahm buooi yahmpi gidi Mahk jchi taum buooi kan spewa ebi Mahmpi wah hoka yee monk Tahond tani kiyee tiyee Gee we-me eetiyee Nanka yaht yamoonieah wajitse
+English Translation: ‘Our hearts are full
and our minds are good.
Our ancestors come
and give us strength.
Stand tall, sing, dance
and never forget who you are
or where you come from.

Second Translation by Lawrence Dunmore:
Mahk jchi tahm buooi yahmpi gidi
Mahk jchi taum buooi kan spewa ebi
Mahmpi wah hoka yee monk
Tahond tani kiyee tiyee
Gee we-me eetiyee
Nanka yaht yamoonieah wajitse

English translation:

A hundred years have passed
Yet I hear the distant beat of my father’s drums.
I hear his drums throughout the land.
His beat I feel within my heart.
The drum shall beat
so my heart shall beat.
And I shall live a hundred thousand years

The Strong Woman Song is performed by Raven Hart-Bellecourt and Lisa Muswagon. This is one of the first songs that I learned as a young woman singing with other young women.
“the water is sick…and people need to really fight for that water, to speak for that water, to love that water” (Josephine Mandamin, Mother Earth Water Walk)
The water Song – Nebe Gee Zha gay e goo Gee Megwetch wayn ne me goo Gee zha way ne me goo Translation- Water, we love you Thank you Respect you

Iz ~ Hokule’a Star of Gladness

Israel Kamakawiwo’ole

 

Raindrops they hamper my vision

Falling down and cutting incisions, in my mind

While we sail away our time

Blow makani, shout jubilation

Carry us down to our destination

O wikiwiki, a keala Tahiti

Millions of stars up in the sky

Looking up they all make us high, but

Hokule’a, Star of Gladness (you’re the

happy star)Oh, Hokule’a, Star of Gladness

Stand beside me and be my friend

make me smile and laugh again, yes

Hokule’a, you’re the Star of

Gladness(you’re the happy star)

Oh, Hokule’a, Star of Gladness

Lift your bow, your hull

slides through the sea

Guide Hokule’a, Lord we ask you please in this we pray, Lord to

show us the way

Ah, Hokule’a, Star of Gladness (you’re the happy star)

Oh, Hokule’a, Star of Gladness

Raindrops they hamper my vision

Falling down and cutting incisions, in my mind

While we sail away our time

Blow makani, shout jubilation

Carry us down to our destination

O wikiwiki, a keala Tahit

Millions of stars up in the sky

Looking up they all make us high, but

Hokule’a, Star of Gladness

(you’re the happy star

Oh, Hokule’a, Star of Gladness

(you’re the happy star)

Oh, Hokule’a, Star of Gladness

(you’re the happy star)

Happyyyyyy, Happyyyy, Happyyy, Happy

Starrrr .
“Panini Pua Kea”
[Hawaiian]
‘Auhea iho nei o Lei aloha

Ku’u hoa i ka nani a’o nā pua
Eia mai au ‘o suipa lilo

Ka ipo i ke aka pua aniani
He aniani wale ‘o hali’a loko

Nowelo mao ‘ole i ka pu’uwai
Nā wai nō ‘oe e a pakele aku

I ka wai o ka pānini pua kea
Ha’ina ‘ia mai ana ka puana

Ku’u ipo i ka nani a’o nā pua
[English]
Where has Leialoha gone?

My companion amid the beautiful flowers
Here am I, “Sweep-all-to-myself”

Your sweetheart in the shadow of fair flowers
Well known is my heart’s turmoil

As love stirs ceaselessly in my heart
How can you escape its influence

After tasting the honey of the white flowered cactus

History of the HOKULE’A (The Star)

The Star: a clear goal to navigate toward. This is the card meaning core values and long-term plans and purposes. You don’t always have an exact navigation grid, or even have a good idea where you are, but at least you have a constantly reappearing reference point. A dream, if you like–and I don’t mean just a fantasy of your future. Real, dreams, night-dreams, can be your star. For just like stars, they rise every night–you can take a new sighting and course-correct.

Hokule’a, “Star of Gladness” is the Polynesian name of Arcturus. It’s a great navigation aid, since it’s at the same latitude as some major island groups–steer toward it and it’s hard to go wrong. Just look for the Big Dipper, follow its handle in a curve to the bright red star…Peter Pan was right. It’s not that hard. If you keep course-correcting.

 


This is the end of my song

Of my sweetheart among the beautiful flowers

“Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers,
for by doing that, some have entertained angels unawares,”

Tribute to the Makaha Sons of Ni’ihau – I’ll Remember You

 

Music & Words by Kui Lee

Over the Rainbow SYRIA

Leave a Reply

